This year, ICGI is held on-line over 5 days (August 23 to August 27). A live talk will take place everyday (an invited talk or a tutorial), followed by a session of live Questions & Answers with the authors of 3 of the accepted papers (each paper comes with a 20 minutes video available one week before the conference).

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday.

Monday, August 23

8:00 AM (US East Coast)
2:00 PM (Brussels)
9:00 PM (Japan)
Opening Remarks
8:10 AM (US East Coast)
2:10 PM (Brussels)
9:10 PM (Japan)
Invited Speaker:
Dana Fisman
Learning languages of infinite words
9:10 AM (US East Coast)
3:10 PM (Brussels)
10:10 PM (Japan)
Break
9:15 AM (US East Coast)
3:15 PM (Brussels)
10:15 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Alexander Clark
Beyond Chomsky normal form: Extending Strong learning algorithms for PCFGs
(video & article)
9:25 AM (US East Coast)
3:25 PM (Brussels)
10:25 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Makoto Kanazawa & Ryo Yoshinaka
A Hierarchy of Context-Free Languages Learnable from Positive Data and Membership Queries
(video & article)
9:35 AM (US East Coast)
3:35 PM (Brussels)
10:35 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Ryuta Kambe, Naoki Kobayashi, Ryosuke Sato, Ayumi Shinohara and Ryo Yoshinaka
Inside-Outside Algorithm for Macro Grammars
(video & article)

Tuesday, August 24

8:00 AM (US East Coast)
2:00 PM (Brussels)
9:00 PM (Japan)
Tutorial:
Robert Frank
The Formal Complexity of Natural Language Grammars Revisited: Perspectives from Neural Networks
9:30 AM (US East Coast)
3:30 PM (Brussels)
10:30 PM (Japan)
Break
9:35 AM (US East Coast)
3:35 PM (Brussels)
10:35 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Wenyue Hua & Adam Jardine
Learning Input Strictly Local Functions From Their Composition
(video & article)
9:45 AM (US East Coast)
3:45 PM (Brussels)
10:45 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Phillip Burness & Kevin McMullin
Learning Multiple Independent Tier-based Processes
(video & article)
9:55 AM (US East Coast)
3:55 PM (Brussels)
10:55 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Dakotah Lambert
Grammar Interpretations and Learning TSL Online
(video & article)

Wednesday, August 25

8:00 AM (US East Coast)
2:00 PM (Brussels)
9:00 PM (Japan)
Invites speaker:
C. Lee Giles
Grammatical Inference, Memory and Neural Networks
9:00 AM (US East Coast)
3:00 PM (Brussels)
10:00 PM (Japan)
Break
9:05 AM (US East Coast)
3:05 PM (Brussels)
10:05 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Clara Lacroce, Prakash Panangaden and Guillaume Rabusseau
Extracting Weighted Automata for Approximate Minimization in Language Modelling
(video & article)
9:15 AM (US East Coast)
3:15 PM (Brussels)
10:15 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Benoît Barbot, Benedikt Bollig, Alain Finkel, Serge Haddad, Igor Khmelnitsky, Martin Leucker, Daniel Neider, Rajarshi Roy and Lina Ye
Extracting Context-Free Grammars from Recurrent Neural Networks using Tree-Automata Learning and A* Search
(video & article)
9:25 AM (US East Coast)
3:25 PM (Brussels)
10:25 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Ankur Mali, Alexander Ororbia, Daniel Kifer and Lee Giles
Investigating Backpropagation Alternatives when Learning to Dynamically Count in Recurrent Neural Networks
(video & article)

Thursday, August 26

8:00 AM (US East Coast)
2:00 PM (Brussels)
9:00 PM (Japan)
Tutorial:
Gail Weiss
Formal Abstractions of Neural Sequence Models
9:30 AM (US East Coast)
3:30 PM (Brussels)
10:30 PM (Japan)
Break
9:35 AM (US East Coast)
3:35 PM (Brussels)
10:35 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Ankur Mali, Alexander Ororbia, Daniel Kifer and Lee Giles
Recognizing Long Grammatical Sequences using Recurrent Networks Augmented with an External Differentiable Stack
(video & article)
9:45 AM (US East Coast)
3:45 PM (Brussels)
10:45 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Victor Connes, Colin De La Higuera and Hoel Le Capitaine
Using Grammatical Inference to Build Privacy Preserving Data-sets of User Logs
(video & article)
9:55 AM (US East Coast)
3:55 PM (Brussels)
10:55 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Wojciech Wieczorek, Łukasz Strąk, Arkadiusz Nowakowski and Olgierd Unold
A Toolbox for Context-Sensitive Grammar Induction by Genetic Search
(video & article)
10:05 AM (US East Coast)
4:05 PM (Brussels)
11:05 PM (Japan)
Social EventGather.Town (1 hour, or longer if necessary)

Friday, August 27

8:00 AM (US East Coast)
2:00 PM (Brussels)
9:00 PM (Japan)
Invited Speaker:
Guillaume Rabusseau
Connections between Weighted Automata, Spectral Learning and Tensor Networks
9:00 AM (US East Coast)
3:00 PM (Brussels)
10:00 PM (Japan)
Break
9:05 AM (US East Coast)
3:05 PM (Brussels)
10:05 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Kaito Suzuki, Diptarama Hendrian, Ryo Yoshinaka and Ayumi Shinohara
Query Learning Algorithm for Symbolic Weighted Finite Automata
(video & article)
9:15 AM (US East Coast)
3:15 PM (Brussels)
10:15 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Kristian Guillaumier and John Abela
Learning DFAs by Evolving Short Sequences of Merges
(video & article)
9:25 AM (US East Coast)
3:25 PM (Brussels)
10:25 PM (Japan)
Q&A:
Nathanaël Fijalkow and Guillaume Lagarde
The complexity of learning linear temporal formulas from examples
(video & article)
9:35 AM (US East Coast)
3:35 PM (Brussels)
10:35 PM (Japan)
Business meetingAbout an hour of discussion about the current state of our community, its future, and anything else you think deserved to be discussed.